Decommission

Decommissioning removes PME files to prevent potential disclosure of sensitive, confidential and proprietary data and software from your system. You risk disclosing your power system data, system configuration, user information, and other sensitive information if you don’t decommission. We strongly recommend you decommission your system at the end of its life.

warning

unintended equipment operation

Before decommissioning, verify that the system is not performing critical control actions that may affect human or equipment safety.

Failure to follow these instructions can result in death or serious injury.

warning

inaccurate data results

Before decommissioning, verify that the system data results are not used for critical decision making that may affect human or equipment safety.

Failure to follow these instructions can result in death, serious injury, equipment damage, or permanent loss of data.

To decommission PME you have two choices, Destroy or Overwrite.

Destroy: Choose this if you do not need to use your hard drives for any other software.

Overwrite: Choose this if you still need to use your hard drives for other software. This method uses a commercial tool to put random data in place of PME files on your hard drives.

See Decommissioning Reference for detailed instructions.